The example of Pages from the article has actually since been changed to do the same thing.
Red "Delete" on the far left, then on the far right a gray/neutral "Cancel" button, and an orange (the app's primary color) "Save"
"Delete" is the wrong verb, suggests I'm deleting the file, which I'm not. Sure you could say, well you're deleting the unsaved changes, but this isn't what it means on any other computer or even in other Mac apps.
The same update (Lion?) ruined saving overall. Apple has insisted that apps should never have a "save as." You can hold opt to do it anyway, but it silently overwrites the original too. Maybe or maybe not lets me revert, and idk where even those revisions are stored. Apple might've hoped this catches on, but again nothing else does it this way. I get they want me to duplicate the file first, but no, I already made changes that I want to save-as, it's too late to duplicate.
If they were going for blurring the line between memory and disk, that didn't work either because there is still the concept of saved vs unsaved changes (that can get "deleted"). It's not like Google Docs.
I think you’re technically correct but that “delete” gets the right thought across to someone who doesn’t understand how files work. You’re deleting whatever you have in front of you.
I agree about Save As…
Maybe that could have just been updated to “Save a Copy” or something like that. I don’t really understand why it’s a hidden option.
A better verb would be "Discard"
Yes exactly. Which I think is sometimes said.
You are deleting the document from your computer.
In some instances this could be a file on disk. But it does not have to be.
It's not deleted. I already have a.txt. I edit it then quit without saving. a.txt is still there.