Who's a Good Boy? A Puppy Linux Mini-Review

66 pointsposted 12 hours ago
by bbbhltz

13 Comments

Vox_Leone

8 hours ago

I bow my head to the eternal Puppy Linux.

Not that I want to see the end of Microsoft like many do. In fact, I don't care. But it could be in real trouble if the masses suddenly became aware of simple, easy, and efficient software like Puppy -- which makes people's dependence on MS even more inexplicable.

sam345

4 hours ago

The thing is, not everyone is an engineer so to normies it's not simple. easy or efficient. There's a reason why people like windows.

ukuina

34 minutes ago

Can we take a moment to reminisce about the DSL and Knoppix era of running immutable Linux distros off of business card-shaped CDs?

thekevan

8 hours ago

One thing not mentioned, although it is sort of implied if you are already familiar, is the ability to run Puppy's latest on absolutely ancient hardware.

>General hardware minimum system requirements are:

* CPU Type = x86, x86_64, AMD64

* 32bit Puppy's - CPU = single core Pentium 4 or equiv, RAM = 512mb

* 64bit Puppy's - CPU = 64 bit dual core, RAM = 1gb

shiroiushi

6 hours ago

No one should be running a Pentium 4 these days unless they get electricity for free somehow. What a horrible CPU design.

tdeck

an hour ago

Presumably it would also run on a Pentium M :).

koe123

9 hours ago

Puppy linux was my first linux install back when I was around 13 years old, and I remember it fondly. I recall I even found it easier to get up and running than ubuntu. (Which is somewhat puzzling in hindsight?)

Retr0id

9 hours ago

It was my first linux too, also at 13. I still have the boot CD I burned, framed on my wall.

stodor89

9 hours ago

In my experience Ubuntu is one of the harder distros to get working when it doesn't work ootb.

depingus

9 hours ago

And old version of Bionic Puppy I had lying around on a USB saved my butt on Friday when the Azure admin nuked my computer out of existence for not having a serial number.

nick__m

9 hours ago

Puppy Linux made me think of the first distribution I used on a 486dx4-100: Peanut Linux !