What, Me Worry? The Art and Humor of Mad Magazine

132 pointsposted 7 hours ago
by bookofjoe

64 Comments

mdf

5 hours ago

I remember, as a child, attempting to reproduce the BASIC program in one of the MAD magazine issues. Somewhere, I had made a typo, which completely screwed the output. I guessed that the tediousness of the whole exercise was part of the joke, shrugged, and moved on.

Luckily, someone else succeeded: https://meatfighter.com/mad/

arp242

4 hours ago

It was pretty common to distribute code as "listing" like this. Typically it came with a checksum for every line and a small program to compute and print that for your own program that you had typed over, which you could then use to fairly quickly(-ish) spot any typos.

All of this is how I learned to program by the way. Kids these days don't know how easy they have it.

mellavora

4 hours ago

Checksums! Bah, I used to have to code uphill both ways in the snow, and I liked it!

Mountain_Skies

3 hours ago

Checksums were a great idea but I just could never resist the temptation to make changes to the program as I was typing it in.

evanelias

2 hours ago

Excellent link, thank you for posting this.

In case there are any other Sergio Aragones superfan weirdos like me here, who only click MAD-related stories in order to command-f for "Sergio Aragones" and then move on when inevitably there are no results: today's your lucky day, click that link above!

dole

3 hours ago

The Commodore version of the source in the magazine never worked. I probably typed it in at least five times in whole thinking I'd screwed something up. It wasn't until a few years ago (from an HN post, no less) that I found the link above and finally, finally got to see what the code did.

ethbr1

7 hours ago

Through my childhood, my mother always found a copy of MAD to give me for Christmas.

Honestly, it'd be great to have more physical zine-style humor back in the US zeitgeist.

It's important to laugh at the issues of the day, while also thinking and doing something about them.

Satire and laughter is a critical antidote to the 24/7 BREAKING-NEWS panic-fear response that all-day news so often inspires.

PS: Also, long live Spy v Spy. Go team black spy. https://archive.org/details/SpyVsSpyTheCompleteCasebook/Spy%...

Loughla

2 minutes ago

We had the MAD board game. I don't remember anything except the card that made everyone act like a rock, with the best rock impression winning. So weird.

criddell

6 hours ago

In case you didn't know, The Onion is back in print:

https://membership.theonion.com/

DaoVeles

2 hours ago

I am so glad to see things like this happening again. Im not saying "bring back all the magazines!" But some of them had a real place in the format.

The one thing I loved about the old tech mags was because of the longer cadence they could really focus on long form and more indepth articles than what we usually get.

Shout out to Atomic magazine in Australia during the early 2000s. Absolute peak of this stuff.

bluedino

7 hours ago

Hah! Mad Magazine was one of the things my mother refused to allow me to checkout from the library.

DaoVeles

2 hours ago

Complete opposite experience here, my grandad had a subscription to it! Not sure what happened to the decades of them because they were all gone by the time he passed.

bookofjoe

7 hours ago

Jeanette Winterson recalled her mother's lament about books: "You can't tell by looking what's inside them."

shortrounddev2

6 hours ago

I read the magazine religiously as a kid (early 2000s). I got special editions for christmas (collections of prior articles/comics on particular subjects). There was one about advertising (Called MADvertising or something) that has a lot of information about old advertisements from the 1950s onward

DaoVeles

2 hours ago

Dick Bartolo one of the writers for Mad used to host The Giz Wiz on twit.tv. It was a daily review of all kinds of random gadgets that come up, it looked to be a life long fascination with those advertisements in the back of magazines. Promise the world and deliver rubbish.

He saw one that had "10 indestructible Fry pans for $1". He knew had had to get them because of how rubbish they would be. Apparently you fold them in half like paper they were so thin.

Edit : Just looked it up, he wrote MAD-vertising. So there you go.

ethbr1

5 hours ago

Occasionally, I'll find old copies of Life and/or single page cut outs for movies/events.

The advertisements (sometimes on the back) are honestly more interesting.

There's no truer window into a capitalist country's soul than how products are sold!

renewiltord

5 hours ago

Found a Mad Magazine at my grandparents' place as a pre-teen, opened it, and immediately picked one of the spies to root for against the other one. Serious tribal instinct there.

frankfrank13

6 hours ago

I love MAD magazine. I remember my mom half-jokingly telling me to stay away from my older cousins' copies as a kid. Funny now, considering how tame it is compared to Tiktok/twitter humor. But as a kid it felt otherwordly.

Anyways here's the example MAD folding picture from the exhibit when its folded -- https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fbtwberkshi...

genewitch

4 hours ago

My cousins had a large collection from i guess the 70s and very early 80s that i read a lot. My mom and aunt had read them too. So one day i bought a new one at the store and brought it home and my mom found it. There was a parody of Edward Scissorhands, and one of the topiaries he made was of a middle finger. I didn't know what that was as she described it (flipping the bird). Apparently that was enough to get it banned in my house.

Incidentally, i got a parent teacher meeting for bringing some stickers from one of my cousin's Mad magazines to school. There was a "POINK" onomatopoeia with a lady's boob and a wardrobe malfunction on one of the stickers, and this was enough to warrant the third degree.

Mad magazine was pretty tame, i never got the puritanism exhibited by everyone around me, especially since they had read the magazine when they were young, and their kids, too, but i read the same ones and suddenly it's taboo?

trothamel

2 hours ago

I saw this exhibition a few weeks ago.

My generally feeling was it didn't work that well, mostly because the MAD stuff is very dense, more dense than you'd expect from painting in an art gallery. A lot of it is also very dependent on pop culture that has changed in the interim.

Probably the two best pieces were the direct parodies of the Rockwell paintings, exhibited next to the pieces they parodied.

The Rockwell museum also made an effort to exhibit some of Rockwell's most humorous pieces in some of the side galleries, which worked well here.

mauvehaus

6 hours ago

The linked Norman Rockwell Museum is in Stockbridge, MA, which is also home to (formerly) the Alice's Restaurant[0] of Arlo Guthrie fame.

[0] For today's lucky 10,000: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m57gzA2JCcM

cancerhacker

5 hours ago

Many years ago, I was just doing a drive through vacation of New England and woke up in my B&B to the smell of roasting turkey - I hadn’t realized it but I’d wound up in Stockbridge on Thanksgiving day. I don’t recall anything special going on in town other than a radio station playing Alice’s Restaurant on repeat.

dang

5 hours ago

Related. Others?

The Mad Magazine Fold-In Effect in CSS – Thomas Park (2020) - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=36856428 - July 2023 (5 comments)

Al Jaffee, king of the Mad Magazine fold-in, has died - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=35517629 - April 2023 (64 comments)

Frank Jacobs, Mad Magazine writer, has died - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=26819773 - April 2021 (18 comments)

Al Jaffee turns 100 - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=26461739 - March 2021 (28 comments)

The Al Jaffee / Mad Magazine Fold-In Effect in CSS - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=23457930 - June 2020 (43 comments)

Mad magazine legend Al Jaffee retires at age 99 - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=23442041 - June 2020 (25 comments)

A World Without Mad Magazine - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20527990 - July 2019 (2 comments)

The World According to Mad Magazine - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20427142 - July 2019 (5 comments)

Mad Magazine to mostly stop publishing new material - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20351524 - July 2019 (86 comments)

A personal tour of MAD magazine, in the crucible of a young life - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=11984032 - June 2016 (12 comments)

Al Feldstein, the Soul of Mad Magazine, Dies at 88 - https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=7680093 - May 2014 (17 comments)

dogleash

5 hours ago

>It is difficult to imagine a time when satirical, irreverent humor was not common across media

I hate the word "irreverent." It's in every article about comedy written by people who don't seem to understand the difference between disrespecting things that are safe to dunk on, vs breaking cultural boundaries.

eterm

5 hours ago

Yes, very few news sources are genuinely irreverent. The Register is one of the few, and you can tell, because it often gets people in the comments here complaining of it's style.

A lot of content out there, user-driven especially, is just sarcastic or "ironic" for the sake of it, not actually pushing boundaries. Worse, they're often cementing the status quo but doing so in a way that doesn't actually make the point they want to make.

They just state the (often minority) counter-point in a sarcastic tone and leave it to the reader to fill in the (typically agreeable) blanks.

yamazakiwi

an hour ago

They want the benefit of the label without the execution

CobrastanJorji

4 hours ago

Are there any Mad Magazines of today? Are there some publications that we'll look back on in 20 years and say "that really shaped humor and it's crazy how many interesting people seem to have all read this when they were young?" Are they online?

cholantesh

4 hours ago

Web sketches and memes will probably be looked at that way, but as far as a satirical publication that has sight gags and comics...maybe the Onion, but maybe not as contemporary as some of its pretenders, of which the Hard Drive is the only one that's remotely as funny.

lykahb

3 hours ago

The Viz Comics is similar

PopAlongKid

4 hours ago

I still have an Alfred E. Neuman for President bumper sticker somewhere IIRC.

When I was much younger, an older relative was overseas for a year, I used to trace some of the marginal humor (little funny drawings literally in the margin of the magazine pages) on "onion skin" airmail sheets (a thin piece of paper, to minimize weight, that you wrote your message on one side, then folded up into an envelope-size document with Airmail/Par Avion printed on the outside where you wrote the address, can't remember if postage was prepaid or you had to affix stamps). Because it was onion skin, it was semi-transparent which allowed for tracing. He appreciated the effort.

borski

7 hours ago

MAD was one of the first pieces of humor I truly fell in love with. I knew about comedy before it, but I don’t know that I really understood comedy before it.

It’s not that it was perfect; it’s that I grew up with it and came of age with it. Also, my immigrant parents didn’t get it, so I was able to enjoy it on my own and it was my first taste of figuring out what I find funny, rather than laughing when other people did.

CalChris

4 hours ago

When I was a kid, we’d regularly get MAD at the supermarket. We’d all read it cover to cover. I was young and some of it was over my head but that’s ok. In junior high, my college age sister gave me a subscription to Sports Illustrated which I read cover to cover; SI had a reputation of paying the most for its articles and the writing was excellent. In my 20s, I subscribed to Spy and was inoculated by phrases like fat fingered vulgarian against a future which should never have happened.

zwieback

3 hours ago

I grew up in Germany but my parents wanted us to learn English so we had subscriptions to many US magazines like Time, National Geographic, New Yorker and, most beloved of all, Mad Magazine. Us kids would fight over the issue when it showed up, good memories!

owlninja

7 hours ago

I just love Don Martin's style!

Cheyana

5 hours ago

Came in to comment on this, all of them were great but Don was the GOAT. And his sound effects! I would love to compile a list of them.

eludwig

4 hours ago

I still have my original copy of "The MAD Adventures of Captain Klutz", probably bought around 1970ish. Such a singular talent. Died pretty young (68), which is sad.

JackFr

4 hours ago

"Eat More Mangoes"

danielktdoranie

6 hours ago

When I was I preteen in 1980s I loved MAD. I even had a collection, I resisted the urge to fold the back page just to keep them nice and instead folded the back page of a copy in the grocery store

bbarnett

6 hours ago

YOU! My mom would always come home, and claim it "was that way" when she bought it for me.

I thought she was doing it. But it was you.

patwolf

4 hours ago

I used to read MAD as a kid. At some point in the 90s they released a CD-ROM set of every issue. It was a neat idea, but the software was pretty bad, and some of the scans we're great. They simulated the fold-in effect, but the alignment was off on some of the issues.

supportengineer

5 hours ago

My mom would buy me these because she loved hearing me laughing hysterically.

whartung

6 hours ago

If you look around in stores, MAD is doing kind of “best of” issues.

I purchased one recently with their old sci-fi stuff (original “Star Drek”, there Star Wars parody, etc. ). I found it in a grocery store.

Classic stuff to be sure.

genewitch

4 hours ago

full color, higher page counts are ~$18. I get maybe one a year and i have no idea where they are!

peppermill

4 hours ago

I once worked with the Normal Rockwell Estate and their letterhead used Comic Sans.

benrmatthews

5 hours ago

“What Simple Pastime is Becoming a Luxury that Many Americans Can No Longer Afford?”

Anyone have the “after” of the fold-in image?

duskwuff

4 hours ago

fuzzfactor

2 hours ago

You thought the early 1970's was when the US currency had been damaged the worst?

This was 1979. By then it was tens of millions more Americans who were being discarded economically[0] in order to retain a fuller illusion of prosperity within reach for the remainder.

[0] Never to be heard from economically again.

swayvil

5 hours ago

Teeth. I can't afford teeth.

082349872349872

5 hours ago

in my day MAD was purely subscription based: no advertising

tamaharbor

5 hours ago

One of my favorites has always been the pharmacist behind the scenes dispensing all prescription medications from a single huge bottle of aspirin.

swayvil

5 hours ago

Used to have a subscription. Me and Dad would try to get it first. Mom bought tons of their little paperback compilations at garage sales. They programmed me into the man I am today.

In retrospect, goddamn they were bleak. I guess that's just the later stuff tho. I saw the really early stuff in reprints. It had a different flavor.