This is not true. They remove the downloaded and encrypted files (sure) but your library remains in your iCloud. And I have unsubscribed many times and came back, it gets your account synced with iCloud and everything comes back.
Good for you! When I did mine got deleted. Apple only kept it's autogenerated "yearly recap" playlist. So there
Not defending ant entity (Apple here) but you need to decide which is it—delete your account when done or saved forever. Everyone yells privacy, “Account Delete” must but when it happens, you cry all over.
Anyways, in a different take, I always have my own copy of things that I have and own. I tried to stop our family’s Apple One subscription a few years back as we were rarely using it. This was the time my daughter was all about Spotify, its “smart algorithm” and such. So, I decided to move our family music to Spotify so I can have one place to manage. She stayed, but Spotify isn’t for me—I’m getting older, so I know what I want and stick to my lane.
Came back to Apple Music (via ONE), the quality is way better and I just let it rescan my local library and we are happy again with the library + few that I missed in my collections.
There is no "Apple music account". You subscribe and unsubscribe using your main, only, icloud account, that is tied to your payment info, keychain, icloud mail and everything.
> you need to decide which is it—delete your account when done or saved forever. Everyone yells privacy, “Account Delete” must but when it happens, you cry all over.
Requesting account deletion should delete the associated data, but a paid subscription lapsing doesn't need to.