Show HN: I'm making a map of newly built hotels

2 pointsposted 7 hours ago
by anconia

5 Comments

JohnFen

5 hours ago

> There's no reason to stay in a hotel that is old and dated when it takes a few minutes to find a new hotel.

Well, there is one reason -- if you prefer "old and dated" hotels to new ones. Lots of people do. That might be a useful option to your map: if you're tracking the age of hotels anyway, you could also produce a map catering to those who prefer the older ones.

anconia

4 hours ago

I don't agree with you that many people prefer old and dated hotels. If you read thousands of reviews online about any hotel, the majority of people give a negative review if the hotel has old carpet or has not been well maintained.

JohnFen

3 hours ago

Well, sure. I don't prefer hotels that haven't been well-maintained either. But that's a totally different thing than being "old and dated". I've encountered plenty of old hotels that were well maintained, and plenty of new hotels that weren't.

I prefer older hotels because newer ones tend to be uncomfortable.

> If you read thousands of reviews online

Online reviews reflect a fairly narrow demographic slice.

anconia

7 hours ago

I usually do the following to confirm when a hotel was built:

1) I search on Google Maps for "hotels" and filter based on the hotel brand.

2) I search the reviews of the hotel for words like "new" or "old" to see what others are saying.

3) I also use Google Street View and look at previous dates of the location to make sure that even if the hotel says "new" that the hotel was not refurbished from a previous hotel.

4) I search on Google for any press releases or news reports of a new hotel built in the town.

user

7 hours ago

[deleted]