About dn42

26 pointsposted 18 hours ago
by immibis

6 Comments

Borg3

7 hours ago

I think there should be more networks like this. Not necessary for learning, but to provide interesting services.

Im not fan of anonymous model. Pseudo anonymous one seems to fit better. You still protect your identity by providing handle (or IP), so reputation matters.

melson

8 hours ago

I'm already announcing my dn42 addresses and it's good for networking enthusiasts who want to study BGP, MPLS, VPN etc

NikkiA

9 hours ago

> Network addresses are assigned in the 172.20.0.0/14 range

well done on making it easy for authoritative organisations to block

Darkskiez

9 hours ago

This is in the private address space like 192.168.0.0, blocking doesn't make sense in this context.

userbinator

7 hours ago

Most people who are only vaguely familiar with networking seem to be able to remember 10/8 and 192.168/16, but the 172.16/12 range is for some reason rather elusive --- I suspect it's not as commonly used as the other two.

aragilar

4 hours ago

I think it usually gets used by VM/container networks (maybe there's some historic reason)? I have seen it once used on a hotel WiFi network (as I was unable to connect because of docker conflicting).