Have We Reached Peak Human Life Span?

2 pointsposted 18 hours ago
by m463

2 Comments

WheelsAtLarge

17 hours ago

I have my doubts about this. I don't have any studies to cite but I see some animals that have a very long life. There's even a whale(mammal, like us) that can live to 200 years. I don't think that any of the current generations will go to 200 but in time I think it's possible to extend life span.

I can't find it but years ago there was a fruit fly study that linked the age of the parents to a longer life span. The older the parents were the longer the lifespan of the next generation. I wonder if now that people are becoming parents later in life, it will increase the overall human life span. It's a stretch to link a fruit fly to a human but it's something to think about.

Terr_

17 hours ago

I tend to think of the correlation (within mammals, anyway) between lifespan and total-heartbeats.