Started a guide to writing FUSE filesystems in Python

180 pointsposted 12 hours ago
by levlaz

40 Comments

dsp_person

10 hours ago

The libfuse github has some good examples for C/C++ in [0] of increasing complexity:

- passthrough.c mirrors existing filesystem, "Its performance is terrible."

- passthrough_fh.c "performance is not quite as bad."

- passthrough_ll.c implemented with low level api and "the least bad among the three"

- passthrough_hp.cc high performance version written in C++

Some interesting fuse projects in my notes: [1] splitting large files into segments; [2] show ZFS incremental snapshots as files; [3] transparent filesystem compression; [4] and [5] options for mounting archives as filesytems.

- [0] https://github.com/libfuse/libfuse/tree/master/example

- [1] https://github.com/seiferma/splitviewfuse

- [2] https://github.com/UNFmontreal/zfs_fuse_snapshot

- [3] https://github.com/FS-make-simple/fusecompress

- [4] https://github.com/google/fuse-archive

- [5] https://github.com/mxmlnkn/ratarmount

craftkiller

6 hours ago

While [2] might be a good code example, this functionality is already built into ZFS. At the mountpoint of every dataset is a hidden ".zfs" folder that doesn't show up, even on a `ls -A`. You just have to believe its there and cd into it. Under that is a "snapshot" folder, and inside that is a folder for each snapshot of that dataset. Those folders contain the files in the snapshot.

So for example, /etc/hosts from my snapshot zrepl_20241011_010143_000 would be at /.zfs/snapshot/zrepl_20241011_010143_000/etc/hosts

If you don't like the magic hidden nature of it, you can even configure it to behave like a normal folder with `zfs set snapdir=visible <dataset>`

j45

3 hours ago

I was just thinking about Fuse the other day for a project to get around case sensitivity in linux for a use case.

Appreciate these links. I'm a little rusty on it, if anyone has any Fuse tutorials or guides they found helpful, happy to receive.

RunningDroid

an hour ago

> I was just thinking about Fuse the other day for a project to get around case sensitivity in linux for a use case.

You should give ciopfs* a shot, it's worked well enough for my use case (playing games indirectly based on nwjs)

*https://www.brain-dump.org/projects/ciopfs/

aargh_aargh

10 hours ago

Just wanted to throw out there that although I'm a fan of FUSE, it's not the only option. I've had fun implementing a virtual filesystem via the 9p protocol not too long ago.

IIRC, I used py9p and the python experience was much nicer than fuse-python. You can mount a 9p service via FUSE (9pfuse) if you want. I just used the kernel v9fs client. If you're just looking to pass a filesystem through the network, I think I used the diod 9p server.

Overall, it's a nice little ecosystem to explore.

packetlost

8 hours ago

9p is such a great little protocol. diod[0] has a good amount of documentation on the protocol itself, but it's pretty simple.

I have some notes here [1], but it's mostly just linking to primary sources. FUSE is great, but 9P is more general and has high quality implementations all over the place, even in Windows!

One thing I'm not so sure about is the performance properties of 9p. I've seen some places indicate it's rather slow, but nothing definitive. Does anyone have any benchmarks or info on that?

[0]: https://github.com/chaos/diod/blob/master/protocol.md [1]: https://athenaeum.wiki/Zettelkasten/9p

mananaysiempre

7 hours ago

> 9P [...] has high quality implementation[...] in Windows

Do you know if it’s possible to mount one’s own 9P servers under Windows? I seem to remember a comment from a Microsoft employee on GitHub something-or-other that said that capability is private to WSL2, but I can’t find it right now.

packetlost

5 hours ago

I'm not sure if you can mount a 9P filesystem from windows normally, I'll try. I'm not seeing any resources online about it either.

Twirrim

3 hours ago

I was experimenting about 18 months ago with FUSE in front of an HTTPS URL, essentially a large file I wanted to be able to random read as if it was local, without downloading it first.

One of the things I ran in to that made it painful, was that the block sizes for FUSE were really small, it made for a lot of latency and churn of HTTP calls to the back end that ended up needing some fairly complicated caching/pre-reading logic to handle. Kernel read-ahead logic never seemed to kick in (and I didn't do any investigation in to that at the time, other than not finding any particular way to induce it)

hathawsh

8 hours ago

It looks like py9p was last released in 2013 and it's still marked as "beta". Cool project though!

iamjackg

11 hours ago

I wish I had known about this a month ago, when I had to go through the exact same process!

In a desperate attempt to find a less frustrating way to interact with Jira, I had the silly idea of starting a jira-as-filesystem project that uses our internal issue categorization to build a tree: directories represent issues, with files representing issue fields and subdirectories for linked issues. I ended up choosing fuse-python.

I haven't worked on it in a minute, but I was already bumping into issues (pun not intended) with the abstraction: using just the issue ID as directory name makes automation easier, but it makes it hard for humans to browse the tree, since a `ls` would just show you a bunch of inscrutable IDs. I ended up adding a parallel `<issue-type>-with-summary` directory type where the slugified summary is appended to each issue ID.

maicro

10 hours ago

Hmm, I'm not saying it's a good idea, but what about a daemon that keeps a symlinked version of the entire jira environment up to date? So you have one jira-as-filesystem that's the raw files, but then for human consumption/interaction, you have a tree of symlinks, including multiple links to the same file wherever it's relevant. Might be adding more layers than needed, based on my lack of understanding, but might technically solve the (current/stated) abstraction issue.

iamjackg

10 hours ago

That's sort of what I'm doing behind the scenes, because I keep one global list of downloaded issues (they're lazily loaded when you access them) and then the folders are really only "views" into the downloaded issues. Representing identical ones across trees as symlinks is a fantastic idea though, I can't believe I didn't think of that! Thanks for the inspiration.

xg15

9 hours ago

Would you even need a daemon for that? That sounds as if the FS could just generate the symlinks on-the-fly in the same way that it generates the folders.

(Unless symlinks are somehow special - but at least both /dev and /proc also provide symlinks and to my knowledge they don't have any actual storage behind them, so it should be possible, I think)

inferiorhuman

10 hours ago

May as well just implement that in the FUSE driver.

paulddraper

9 hours ago

State syncing is always harder than state reading

jrms

8 hours ago

Why not just 1234-human-sense? You have both type of info there and it's easy to parse too I think.

iamjackg

5 hours ago

Yeah, sorry, I think I was a bit confusing: that's exactly what I'm doing. For example, an Epic folder is laid out like this:

    EPIC-123
    ├─── user-stories
    │    └─── STORY-234
    └─── user-stories-with-summary
         └─── STORY-234-add-support-for-feature-a

renewiltord

10 hours ago

Referencing the same two ways is normal in Unix fs. On a modern Linux you will see disks referenced by block device and UUID. I think your approach is good and consistent with expectations.

Though I, personally, would not use it as JIRA is complicated enough for me.

iamjackg

5 hours ago

Yeah, the /dev/disk/by-uuid paradigm was actually the inspiration for adding the second folder!

mcoliver

7 hours ago

So many fuse mount options out there with varying tradeoffs, performance, and features (s3fs, goofys, seaweed, minio, Google drive, etc..). JuiceFS is pretty interesting for doing things like mounting an object store and accessing it via posix with all the metadata you would expect on a traditional filesystem. https://juicefs.com

memset

10 hours ago

Nice!

Adjacent question: lately I’ve been seeing people implement NFS base filesystems since that is a more widely supported protocol. I think rclone does this for Mac. Is there a guide, or even a comparison, for this approach?

mbirth

5 hours ago

Fun fact: Now that recent macOS versions require you to disable security features to install macFUSE, there’s the awesome fuse-t. It works as a drop-in replacement, doesn’t need the kext and will open up an NFS server in the background and mount that using macOS features. Performance is pretty good, too.

peterldowns

5 hours ago

If you're interested in seeing what a finished product looks like, check out azuline/rosé — a music manager with a virtual filesystem. Really good codebase with a lot of comments and explanations and types and tests, which should make it easy to learn from.

https://github.com/azuline/rose

kapnap

3 hours ago

Off topic but whenever I see a blog with some 90s/2000s vibes, I always go to their first page of posts. Never disappoints to sneak a peak into that time capsule - including gwolf.org!

alkh

11 hours ago

I've recently discovered sshfs and learned about needing to have FUSE as a dependency for OS X, which spiked by interest. The code looks very clean and easy to understand, so thanks for that! Is there any guide/course you would recommend for the introduction to FUSE? It looks like all you have is to provide implementations to certains functions your filesystem will use but it's hard without knowing the details(ex. I wouldn't know I had to implement readdir without your code, and so on)

pkaye

10 hours ago

I've used sshfs in the past and I know the original authors stopped maintaining it though others took over. I did find the network error handling wasn't the greatest. Like it would unmount the fuse mount due to network error and I'd be writing files to the local mount directory silently until space filled up. Perhaps its a Linux specific issue or I've used the wrong options though.

alkh

10 hours ago

To be honest, I knew about the speed limitations of sshfs already, so I typically use rsync to work with large files. This way, I wouldn't write the data locally even if the connection fails. I've checked the github repo and it looks like there are a number of issues related to network timeout that hasn't been addressed for a long time[1]. However, I mostly used it on OS X, so my experience might be different from yours Thanks for the info as well, I was under the impression sshfs was under active development (: [1]https://github.com/libfuse/sshfs/issues/77

beeboobaa3

6 hours ago

> I'd be writing files to the local mount directory silently until space filled up

that's why you `chattr +i` the mountpoint

sweeter

an hour ago

I did something similar and it was a really fun project! You can easily make a Google Drive FUSE fs, or something simple like an in-memory fs, an encrypted fs, etc... Its very interesting and a lot simpler than one would imagine. You basically fulfill an interface and FUSE isn't really aware of the implementation. Its more of a "contract" that X function returns a given result. You can implement a FUSE fs for a ton of cool stuff.

rnd0

7 hours ago

An user-space filesystem running in an interpreted language? Is that as bad as I think it is?

vineyardmike

7 hours ago

They’re a teacher. It’s learning material.

askvictor

2 hours ago

A operating systems class I was once a lab assistant for, we implemented the key parts of an operating system in Python. Scheduler, Filesystem, Memory Management. I think it ended up being more confusing than not, but I appreciated where it could go.

heavyset_go

6 hours ago

No, you will spend the majority of your time waiting on IO.