Forking Is Beautiful

31 pointsposted 15 hours ago
by LamaOfRuin

7 Comments

caekislove

15 hours ago

Nobody uses just core WordPress. The moat is the plugin ecosystem. Once somebody creates an alternative plugin repository mirroring wp.org, that's when Matt will go "nuclear".

peterbmarks

15 hours ago

It could be misdirection. Maybe I'll wait for the fork Matt doesn't like.

franciscop

15 hours ago

You said in 1 line what I spent a bit writing in 30 lines, kudos

curiousgal

15 hours ago

You're giving him way too much credit seeing how much he sucked at extorting people lol

pluc

12 hours ago

The post this leads to just reeks of influencer/devrel marketing-speak. Show something then be cocky about it, not the other way around. And how can Automattic be convincingly 'proud to announce' this fork, when this fork literally doesn't currently exist? There's no plan, no code, no difference, nothing to show for. Just this cringe ass announcement.

ezekg

15 hours ago

I saw a theory yesterday proposing a 'reason' for all this: Matt wants out and is trying to force a community fork by going scorched earth.

After this post, that theory seems kind of plausible? But who knows, really.

edent

15 hours ago

As I said to Matt earlier today on the WordPress Slack "I've never seen anyone spread so much FUD about their own project before. I started out as sympathetic to your cause against WP Engine. But your behaviour has driven me - and many other good people - away. I want to be explicitly clear: I am in no position to judge the merits of your lawsuit, but I am in a position to judge your behaviour. I cannot fathom why you are trying to turn your own community against you. Please - reconsider your approach"

BDFL only works if the D is B. Otherwise FL becomes FML.