A fun watch for the engineers in the room [video]

2 pointsposted 14 hours ago
by stuzenz

2 Comments

stuzenz

14 hours ago

I have been getting into electronics a fair bit in the last year. I always find Dave jones from EEVblog entertaining.

Dave does some simple back of the napkin calculations in this video to pull apart the claims of [reflectorbital](https://www.reflectorbital.com/)

I am just sitting here amazed that this idea got past the idea-stage for the startup.

I was entertained by the video - I think you might be too.

ClassyJacket

13 hours ago

I was amazed how many people fell for this.

It's just obvious. To make a 1sq km area of sunlight, you need a mirror at least 1sq km in size - in practice, probably far more. This idea is so absurdly implausible it concerns me anyone over the age of 12 believed it.