Perilous Times on Planet Earth

6 pointsposted 8 hours ago
by Traces

2 Comments

NemoNobody

3 hours ago

I had a book when I was a kid that talked about global warming with a very 1990s distant future point of view on the situation but it did discuss how it would play out, what would happen first, what would be the point of no return that kind of stuff.

Everything that it talked about happening in a hundred years has already happened.

The melting of the permafrost in Siberia was one of the books examples of a world ending highly unlikely/near impossible scenario - of course that's also happening rn.

I can't recall the name of the book for the life of me but the reality is that my entire life the people that run the world have known about this problem and only made it worse.

nehal3m

2 hours ago

Reports like these scare the crap out of me every time, and they tend to cause apathy since attacking the causes of the problem seems nigh impossible at an individual level. It's hard to keep up hope for a non-catastrophic outcome to the point I resort to nihilism. Maybe humanity just isn't meant to make it past this great filter.