Forums Are Still Alive

40 pointsposted 12 hours ago
by jsheard

8 Comments

ornornor

an hour ago

After Reddit committed suicide (when they killed the API), I deleted my account. I now only use specialized forums for the things I’d use subreddits for. Except slightly more friction by having to register for each forum separately, I don’t miss much. The content is better, there are users who’ve been there for 20+ years and are knowledgeable, and I don’t have to des with Reddit anything anymore.

I hope these platforms would die already but I know they’d be replaced by an even worse “evolution” of themselves.

Such is our internet now :(

johng

12 hours ago

Forums are making a slight come back... Facebook Groups are still huge, Reddit as well. But I've noticed more traffic coming back to forums as well. Perhaps people are getting tired of the lower quality content on FB.

JSDevOps

7 hours ago

Or avoiding the power trip mods on Reddit shadow banning or banning for no reason.

squigz

an hour ago

Of course, this wouldn't happen with mods on forums.

Oh wait...

skeptrune

10 hours ago

It would be interesting to see some estimated data on traffic to forums as a general category of the internet. Cool to see that so many are still active.