Show HN: Not a Game

4 pointsposted 15 hours ago
by dakom

1 Comments

dakom

15 hours ago

Of course, goes without saying - the parts I'm most happy to discuss here are about the tech... though... this was a slow-burn of a project I started nearly a year ago and then abandoned. I think the pixel-perfect occlusion query stuff is neat (for someone like me who never worked on AAA games at least), but, I wouldn't really be able to explain how it works without re-learning, hehe ;)

I really like the combo of Shipyard ECS for the game stuff and Dominator for UI. I've used Dominator on large projects and it continues to be a great framework.

Shipyard is just super clear and is easy to reason about. I know Bevy is the hot thing these days, and maybe I'd check that out for a larger / collaborative project, but Shipyard really hit the sweet spot for letting me get into the nitty gritty (which I could manage here since it's just simple 2d state machine sorta stuff)