Darvo

6 pointsposted 14 hours ago
by djaouen

6 Comments

ggm

14 hours ago

Very easy fault to fall into. I think it may come from the Chimpanzee level wired brain function. I hate it when I do it myself. It's a level-1 error flag to me I'm probably in the wrong when I take an incoming attack and somehow try to push it back.

It's also why I think so many of us believe a story arc which says Donald Trump is projecting.

djaouen

13 hours ago

> when I take an incoming attack and somehow try to push it back.

Abusers (usually) make the first move. If you are playing defense, that is usually a good sign.

ggm

13 hours ago

ehhh I don't read it that way:

party a: you took the last cookie

party b: (me) -fuck that I think you did (I actually did) you lier! anyway you suck and last month you took the last coke can (I actually did that too)

party a: no I didn't what the fuck?

party b: (me) I'm going to HR

the DARVO is me. right?

djaouen

12 hours ago

Empathetic people (usually) only accuse people publicly as a last resort. Did Party A spread rumors about you eating the cookie prior? Is Party A using the accusation to hinder your chances of promotion? If you ate the cookie, you should just tell people you ate it.

ggm

12 hours ago

Yea but I'm using DARVO to avoid having to admit I'm the office food stealer.

user

14 hours ago

[deleted]