I made a tool to explore X archives from any account

5 pointsposted 8 hours ago
by Artzain

8 Comments

Artzain

8 hours ago

I often found myself scrolling through Twitter trying to catch the significant moments and the come up from indie hackers, startup founders, or even successful artists. It was cumbersome and time-consuming, and I knew there had to be a better way. That’s when I built TweetSearch.

What began as a tool for my own use quickly evolved into something more: a way for all of us in the startup scene to get more from our favorite founders, whether it's Gary Tan, Brian Chesky, or others, and learn what they have shared over the years.

Ideal for anyone in the startup community looking for inspiration, seeing the founder's story to the top, and discovering which tweets are top performers.

Very keen to know your feedback on the tool or any suggestion you have!

aguaviva

2 hours ago

Requires signup, meaning I'll never get to find out what it does and will completely forget about your post within seconds of submitting this helpful feedback to you.

Artzain

an hour ago

I actually had to make a signup to allow a free usage of the tool. If no signup, it can too easily be botted and my fees for results request would go through the roof.

We have Google one-click signup though. Why is it such a painful process for you (genuinely curious to hear from you)

aguaviva

41 minutes ago

I'm not on Google, which must mean I don't matter to you and you don't want my business or my referrals anyway. As for why users hate having to sign up for something to just find out what it is:

https://hn.algolia.com/?q=signup+required

In more detail: because life is short, and most of these sites just aren't that great anyway. You may say it's one-click but the fact is users have been gaslit too many times by signups that require multiple interactions to plod through (from surveys to emails to ToS pages that of course no one has time to read). Again, just to find out what the site supposedly does or it's worth their time. After a point it's like, forget it, they're all guilty until proven innocent.

The concern about bots is entirely understandable, and I don't have any immediate answers for you as I have no idea what the current space of countermeasures looks like these days, but it may be worth taking another look at. You might also consider a hybrid approach, that offers say 10 free searches before requiring a signup (so people can get feel for the UX, does it do what it says, is it responsive or is it another piece of React garbage, does it blast them with ads and popups, etc).

add-sub-mul-div

2 hours ago

Not having to hear from people like Gary Tan is a benefit of being off Twitter, not a reason to jump through ridiculous hoops to make the site usable.

Artzain

an hour ago

For some Gary Tan provides good insights, for others it doesn't. I'm sure you like to read some influential personalities. You could search for those ones instead with my tool :)

leobg

an hour ago

From the AI generated “best of” pages:

> Elon Musk's Bold Support for Trump Amid Health Concerns

This is after the assassination attempt.

Artzain

an hour ago

Absolutely! I've tried to make all the title & subtitles AI generated, some things still need to be polished :)