Ruby Meetups

85 pointsposted 13 hours ago
by mooreds

11 Comments

weeksie

9 hours ago

Had a flashback to twenty odd years ago in Sydney when there weren't enough Rubyists to get a reservation at the pub for a meetup so we had to team up with the Smalltalk guys. Ahhh, different times.

cortesoft

6 hours ago

It gave me a flashback to 2007, when I was a hobbyist programmer and signed up for a Ruby meetup on a whim, and a recruiter called me 5 minutes later and ended up getting me my first programming job. Crazy to think how much that changed my life.

UncleOxidant

3 hours ago

I started the Portland Ruby meetup back in '02. IIRC we had 4 people including myself in that first meeting at a pub. And it went that way for several years where we'd never have more than about 6 people (and often less). Then after Rails hit it took off. I Haven't been to one in at least a decade.

22c

8 hours ago

Interestingly, Sydney does not seem to have an event listed on this site when I checked. Adelaide and Auckland lead the charge, with an occasional Melbourne meetup.

As an aside, I dislike the strong association between Rails and Ruby. Ruby can be a fun scripting language. In my experience I'm generally about as productive writing Ruby as I am with writing Python, but Ruby seems to get bucketed into a very Rails centric world of "not the worst choice you could make if you wanted to make a web service" (at least when it comes to meetups).

Maybe it's just that the web service guys are more likely to need a support group! :)

chillfox

an hour ago

Ruby is my go-to language for automation scripts, it just makes it so easy. For web apps I use Crystal, and have started to try Elixir.

mooreds

6 hours ago

> Interestingly, Sydney does not seem to have an event listed on this site when I checked.

To be fair, Boulder Ruby is pretty active, and we aren't on that list. Just moved to Luma from meetup but have had meetings 10 months a year since 2016.

https://boulder-ruby.org/

https://lu.ma/boulder-ruby

billdueber

5 hours ago

I keep telling people to think of Rails as a “ruby-like” language. Rails monkey-patches so much and has so much magic that it’s substantially a different thing.

User23

6 hours ago

I agree with you, but it’s an indisputable fact that Rails is why the overwhelming majority of Ruby programmers have paying jobs.