Windows Server 2008 IA64 Guest on HP Integrity VM (HP-UX)

13 pointsposted 13 hours ago
by zdw

4 Comments

kristopolous

11 hours ago

Something I didn't know that according to wikipedia, hpux is still being developed. I thought it had stopped with the pa-risc machines being killed off. Anyone here still using it?

Also, apparently, OpenVMS releases are still rolling out as well.

I'm glad these things are still happening but I can't imagine they're profitable. Am I missing something?

Palomides

11 hours ago

I think they do some kind of bare minimum security update release once per year, so "still being developed" is a stretch, they're probably just milking the support contracts. afaict the last server HP-UX will run on ended sales in 2020.

openvms got spun out into a tiny little company and is at least somewhat alive

kristopolous

10 hours ago

Right. My imagined reason was they signed ambitious contracts a long time ago that promised some decades of support and they're running it in a way that's less then the penalty they'd have to pay for breaching the contract. This works with the modem Jack Welchified HP.

But again, that's pure imagination.

mrpippy

8 hours ago

HP-UX also ran on Itanium, those were on sale until 2021. No one bought those without a support contract, and probably some guarantee of support for at least 10 years.