Show HN: GitHub Repo Visualizer Using D3

5 pointsposted 10 hours ago
by Cerchie

6 Comments

fryuni

8 hours ago

First, congrats on the project. It is always great to learn with hands-on experience.

At first, I thought the page was broken because there was no indication that anything was happening. Once the content is generated, you could add a message to scroll down, especially on Macs, where browsers don't show the scrollbar by default.

> the GitHub API provides fairly standardized responses so building dynamic charts wasn't too bad.

Out of curiosity, which criteria did you use for the "Other" section in the language chart? Aggregating everything below a certain percentage? Your page shows only TS and Other for my repos. All 7 languages used in the repo are shown on GH.

---

If you make a demo visualizing real-time data from Kafka make sure to share it as well :)

Cerchie

5 hours ago

yes! I'll either add a message or an arrow, thank you!

other was less than 5%. I'd like to do a demo with Kafka + d3 soon. I _have_ done one with Streamlit, which is a python component library+deployment service at a pretty higher level of abstraction (I'd say similar to nivo in the JS world). https://flink-st-kafka.streamlit.app/

Cerchie

5 hours ago

update: added a message-- again, thanks for the feedback

nealeg

7 hours ago

Hi, nice project, I checked 3 repos before I figured you need to scroll to see results,

Cerchie

6 hours ago

thanks for the feedback! based on it, I may add an arrow-- would that help?

Cerchie

5 hours ago

update: added a message