Ask HN: Best Self Hosted Emails Service?

3 pointsposted 10 hours ago
by max_

Item id: 41628744

8 Comments

sgt

10 hours ago

Self hosted - I went for mailu and it's very good:

https://mailu.io/

I didn't enable its Webmail feature though, so I have no idea if it's good or not. I just use Mail on iOS and macOS.

maremmano

9 hours ago

I'm using mailinabox.email without problems. It's great.

downrightmike

10 hours ago

Friends don't let friends self host email

max_

10 hours ago

Sorry I don't understand this

sgt

10 hours ago

It's the common (mis)conception that self hosting email is impossible. That's not true though. Better be careful with your IP reputation but aside from that, it's definitely possible. I've been self hosting e-mail since 2000.

icedchai

9 hours ago

Same. I've been self hosting since the early 90's, starting with a UUCP feed. Over the years, I've used smail, sendmail, qmail, postfix...

Iulioh

9 hours ago

The first rule of email is reliability, your home server tends to have a higher downtime than Gmail and it's more hassle than it's worth

If you want to get fancy get a domain and a 3th party to host it, self hosting is really unadvisable.

user

9 hours ago

[deleted]