My Asus eeePC still rocks in 2024 (with MX Linux)

5 pointsposted 7 hours ago
by jandeboevrie

3 Comments

your_drunk_dad

6 hours ago

Mine sucks in 2024. I have tried countless distros on my eeePC and it's just pain to use on any of them nowadays. It's bad even to act as a some kind of simple jukebox in my garage.

dangus

5 hours ago

> How well and how fast, well, that's a separate topic, but you can.

Yeah, we all know how that goes. These things were painfully slow when they released and even more so now.

Even for the time the screen was small and low resolution.

I’m also thinking the CMOS battery should be pretty easy to replace? The main battery as well? I’m not sure why anyone would live with the deterioration of those wear parts when they are so simple and inexpensive to resolve.

I think the original unit was rated for just about double that battery life right? So that battery has definitely deteriorated. The author just has low standards.

user

7 hours ago

[deleted]