Fukuppy

14 pointsposted 11 hours ago
by Deeg9rie9usi

5 Comments

pettycashstash2

10 hours ago

ahh, classic. here's another example OSRAM Osram offers innovative and sustainable lighting solutions.

In Polish, "osram" (from the verb "srać" meaning "to shit") roughly translates to "I will shit on something," giving it a very negative connotation. The company is still known by this name in the Polish market. Simply translating "Żarówki OSRAM" (OSRAM light bulbs) as "I'll shit all over light bulbs."

The origin of the OSRAM name is explained as a combination of "Osmium" and "Wolfram" (tungsten), chosen without considering potential issues in other languages.

I was drinking my morning coffee When I first saw a large truck splattered with the wording on the sides. I laughed so hard the coffee came out of my nose.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk%3AOsram

karmakurtisaani

8 hours ago

Another one: in Finland we had this brand of bread buns that translates in English to something like "the bag of Jussi", Jussi being a common Finnish name. The actual name of the product? Jussipussi, does not do well with English pronunciation..

h2odragon

10 hours ago

What a wonderful logo for everyman. No heroics, no implicit shame for the lack of same. "I'm FUBAR and that's OK"

user

10 hours ago

[deleted]

user

10 hours ago

[deleted]