The Collapse of Self-Worth in the Digital Age

120 pointsposted 5 hours ago
by pseudolus

86 Comments

skissane

3 hours ago

The other day I was talking to a psychologist about [difficult personal situation which I am unable to discuss publicly] and she said to me “This must be really damaging to your self-worth.” And, my honest internal reaction to her statement (although I didn’t say it out loud to her) was “Self-worth, what is that?” Because I’m not sure if I have any? I don’t mean that in the negative sense that I think I am worthless or anything. It is just that in my mind “self” and “worth” are concepts which do not intersect. Maybe that’s an autistic trait.

orbisvicis

an hour ago

The flip side of detaching self-esteem from technical competency is that you can make very strong assertions without being arrogant.

People of integrity with utilitarian leaning are often labeled amoral or unemotional.

People with a strong drive not attached to financial gain are often termed unambitious.

Your perceived worth really depends on values of society, so if you remove yourself from the equation, you only have no worth to others, not to yourself. Sequestered from others the sense of self has no meaning, so naturally you have no self-worth. Not because you are worthless, but because you have no self and place no importance on your perceived worth.

Or more strongly phrased, what's the point of self-worth if you can do everything you put your mind to?

I'd you can't but think you can, then that's a harmful psychological schism. Since no one person can achieve everything, self-worth is only meaningful in areas for which you lack competency

For example - and this deals not with self-worth but with stress - I'm pretty inflexible in my goals. When I can't meet my goals I tend to shut down. I'm often asked if I'm stressed, to which I can only respond, "Stress - what's that?". And yet clearly I've suffered a harmful schism between my perception of self and reality, as indicated by my lack of stress response.

detourdog

11 minutes ago

My partner considers my deliberateness as lazy. They won’t discuss things with me because they already know all about me.

My willingness to share their perception of me being ineffective was quite damaging to my self esteem. I never felt successful due to lack of acknowledgment of my achievements.

They asked me to leave the house about a year ago. Once I met new people and they saw me as successful and fun my self worth improved.

__turbobrew__

2 hours ago

I feel the same.

One thing that I have struggled with in relationships is that others need to feel validated, that their decisions are rational and that other people believe that they are rational. Stimulus from the outside to satisfy the inside.

What makes this difficult for me is that I don’t need to feel validated, I am comfortable with my own decisions in life and do not need someone else to approve. I think this ties into self worth which seems to be related to people’s perception of their actions and the approval they see from others. If you do not need external validation then you are not concerned about peoples perception of you and therefore self worth is a foreign concept.

detourdog

17 minutes ago

I spent 56 years with that thought. Looking back for me it was family identity and trying to achieve standards of someone that died a decade before I was born.

I now understand self-worth in a new way. I had to realize that there was plenty of time to slow down and be deliberate. I had to get to point where I could take the time I needed to do a task.

I have no idea how others can find self worth but for me I describe it as being comfortable.

wpietri

an hour ago

I think there are two ways you can look at it.

One is what I think of as the neurotypical way. They spend a lot of energy on social modeling, on fitting people into hierarchies of privilege. (E.g., "respecting your elders", older sibling vs younger, teachers vs students, the popular kids, and so many other things.) Then in the same way they're judging the worth of others, they fit themselves into the same primate status model.

I think that's what the psychologist is talking about. Personally, I find that way not super useful.

But another way is sort of reverse engineering. From how person X treats themself, what can we learn about how much they value their own self? Like you, I didn't have much of a concept of self-worth in the sense of "where do I place myself in the many hierarchies most people around me are constantly aware of." But a therapist eventually got me to see that I did not treat myself as worth the same as the people around me. Paying attention to that has improved my life a lot.

The big question for me is to what extent the latter thing is influenced by the former. For neurotypical people I gather the link is pretty strong. For me it's definitely a weaker link, but it's hard to tell the difference between "there is no link" and "I don't notice the link".

detourdog

6 minutes ago

I take comfort in seeing my experience described by others. I’m waiting on a neurological evaluation to see where on a spectrum I exist. I have been evaluated for a personality disorder of which none was found.

orbisvicis

20 minutes ago

Are you suggesting that self-worth can only be defined as the sum of your perceived worth to others? That makes the 'self' in worth an oxymoron, no?

To you, it seems the best way to achieve self-improvement is to maximize your value to others, i.e. by moving up the social hierarchy. But that doesn't imply that those who don't play the game have no worth, does it?

I think you are conflating a sense of happiness with a sense of worth. They are not necessarily the same.

For example I occasionally find myself in conflict with an acquaintance over a miscommunication. If after explaining the underlying conditions the other individual refuses to adjust their perception of me, I couldn't care less. That's their problem, not mine, even if they continue to spread their (possibly vile) misperceptions.

Now if I had sucked up to them perhaps, yes, I would have improved my life. But what I did not do was reduce my self-worth.

wpietri

11 minutes ago

I just described two different ways of thinking about self-worth, so I am not suggesting it "can only be defined" as anything.

BadHumans

an hour ago

Not a psychologist but I am friends with more than a few. I don't know why you assume the psychologist meant the first because they did not. Self-worth has nothing to do with social hierarchy. It is how you treat yourself and a core thing therapist work on is helping you treat yourself the way you would treat others, with compassion and respect.

wpietri

13 minutes ago

I thought maybe I was using the phrase wrong, but the first two definitions I find are "the internal sense of being good enough and worthy of love and belonging from others" and "a feeling that you are a good person who deserves to be treated with respect". You'll note that those are both inherently social. And both "good enough" and "with respect" are about one's position in the caste/hierarchy structure.

The reason I assume what the psychologist meant is that most of them are neurotypical, and neurotypical people are deeply invested in social primate dynamics. I understand that this is hard for neurotypical people to see, but you might read things like DeWaal's "Chimpanzee Politics" or Johnson's "Impro" [1]. Plus there's my personal experience, where psychologists are very inclined to talk about self-worth in the social sense. And I think that's fine; I'm sure it works well for their neurotypical patients.

[1] particularly the section on status transactions, which are vital for authentic theater performances, but are rarely articulated because it's so natural to neurotypical people

daymanstep

3 hours ago

I think the idea is that "people" tend to be attracted towards things that they think will increase their self worth and avoid things that decreases their self worth.

Though from a stoic perspective the only thing that can affect your self worth are your own actions, not external events which you have no control over.

passion__desire

an hour ago

I think stoic ideas are from an era where their circumstances made them have those principles. We don't live in that era. It is possible to affect others and the associated cascading effect that can bring about a change in others action which were affecting you negatively. If Naval's idea of "individuals having leverage holds water" directly implies that you can change others, albiet slowly. If your reach becomes big enough that it becomes a threat that "other actors" need to curtail that reach through "algorithms" is another evidence that you were indeed having effects that they didn't like.

HPsquared

an hour ago

You think Marcus Aurelius was unable to affect other peoples' actions? That's not the idea. The point is that you can't directly make someone else think or feel a certain way, only act on them externally.

maroonblazer

38 minutes ago

And of course from a Buddhist perspective the self is an illusion, making all this 'self-worth' chasing akin to tilting at windmills.

detourdog

2 minutes ago

I don’t think the notion of self-worth is rejected by Buddha. I think the expectation of achieving it through actions is rejected. The expected results are the problem not self-worth or actions.

svaha1728

23 minutes ago

True, but it’s harder to run around with a begging bowl in Western cultures. Even though self worth is an illusion, right livelihood is part of the Noble Eightfold Path.

AnimalMuppet

2 hours ago

I think most people use other people as a kind of mirror, to try to see who they are and how they fit. (Autists may do it less than others, or even none at all.)

If everybody thinks well of me, then I should probably think well of myself. If everyone thinks badly of me, then I'm probably not worth very much. So goes the logic.

So social media is tearing up peoples' self image, not just because of put-downs and deliberate trolling, but mostly because everyone is putting forward the best version of themself that they can, and we compare that, not to the version of ourselves that we put forward, but to the reality of ourselves, and we lose in comparison.

And that's the problem with self-worth-by-comparison. There's always someone against whom you lose, in some aspects. Richest man in the world? Yeah, but that other guy has a bigger yacht, and we use yachts as measuring sticks.

That's true of all of life, but social media amplifies it. We can see more people faster to compare ourselves to, and they can present a fake image more convincingly.

hermitcrab

39 minutes ago

And marketers play on this status anxiety. Just look at pretty much any car ad. The best way to innoculate yourself against this (to an extent anyway) is to learn a bit about marketing and do some marketing. Once you have seen how the sausage is made, it has less power.

phkahler

an hour ago

>> "Self-worth, what is that?” Because I’m not sure if I have any?

This almost made me laugh. I know where you're at. You got a long road ahead so get started! Tell your psychologist when these things pop in your head. Have a laugh, but then reflect on it or whatever.

Let me offer some alternatives to "autistic": Anhedonia, schizoid personality disorder, avoidant (attachment OR personality disorder). There are many things, but it's not super important to define it, lest you let it define you.

graeme

3 hours ago

One way of looking at it is how you assess yourself in things and take pride in or feel regret about that.

For example, you wrote this comment. It is a well written comment. You likely have some belief roughly along the lines of "I write reasonably well". You have probably received feedback along those lines throughout life, and that reinforces that belief. This is perhaps mildly pleasing or at least seems correct.

Now suppose instead that whenever you wrote things people replied:

"Huh?"

"What? This makes no sense"

"Good god what led you to think that? That's so stupid!"

And so on. And you even reread some of your own writings that you thought were good and they seem to strike you as not good. The view that your writing is not good comes to strike you as correct. You aim to improve but continue to receive negative feedback. The view that you are genuinely not good at writing seems to be correct and you come to believe you cannot ever be good at writing.

That would be negative self worth. Does this example line up at all with any internal thought processed you have? Are you pleased by praise or hurt by criticism? Even to the level of thinking the judgements are correct or incorrect.

(To be clear you are good at writing)

card_zero

2 hours ago

This begs the question because it starts with "how you assess yourself". Why assess yourself, the self, the whole person, at all? So, you're not good at writing. Perhaps you're not good at anything. In that case, you probably shouldn't attempt things except as practice. But why give yourself an overall score as a person, what are you even supposed to do with that information? You can't be anybody else, so it's useless. Work with what you've got, fuck 'em.

elorant

2 hours ago

How about integrity? Do you find that relevant? Usually people with integrity have high self-esteem because they adhere to a certain set of ethics. I'm not trying in any way to pass judgement, just to give you a different perspective.

herval

an hour ago

my understanding of integrity means that you do things that are guided by a shared moral compass - keep your word, avoid cheating, etc. Those signals seem to be all external (you do them because you don't want to violate your contract with another person, etc). I don't think that's in any way related to self-worth (which is a measurement of value to yourself, independent of others)?

s1artibartfast

10 minutes ago

It doesnt have to be a shared moral compass, but simply your own. That is to say, you can practice integrity in isolation from other people.

A simple mundane example would being going to the gym if you tell yourself you will.

A more complex example would be acting in accordance with the values you believe in or not. If you think people that kick dogs are terrible, but you yourself go around kicking dogs, this creates a lot of cognitive dissonance and low self worth. If you promise yourself to stop, but keep breaking that promise, you realize you cant be trusted, which also impacts self worth.

oliv__

an hour ago

It is definitely related to self-worth, because the contract you make is not with another person, it's with yourself. And when you respect it, it increases your self respect and worth.

herval

an hour ago

I don't see how that's the case at all. A sense of obligation (how much you value someone else) has nothing to do with self worth (how much you value yourself). If this was the case at all, a great treatment for low self esteem would be to commit to stuff for others, since that'd automatically make you valuate your own self more

fixedpointsnake

5 minutes ago

>If this was the case at all, a great treatment for low self esteem would be to commit to stuff for others, since that'd automatically make you valuate your own self more

How do you know this is not true?

If your sense of obligation is seen as a value function for people, it follows that your self-worth is the value when you plug-in "self". Helping others and volunteering is indeed something that brings satisfaction and could help heal your sense of self-worth. If you value another person higher than yourself, by helping them you would establish a connection between their worth and your own. You potentially went from lacking any evidence of positive self-worth to having concrete first-hand evidence that you are worth something to someone.

herval

a minute ago

> How do you know this is not true?

years of therapy :-)

the opposite is also demonstrably false - there's people with huge self-esteem who are known for their complete disdain for others or their opinions.

user

29 minutes ago

[deleted]

herpdyderp

2 hours ago

I feel this. As to why, my answer is simply that it’s a waste of time to worry about it, so why bother?

add-sub-mul-div

24 minutes ago

I'm the same way. I could dispassionately talk about either my strengths or my weaknesses. But I don't see the world as measuring myself in an overall way, nor other people. We all have so many dimensions that are always in so much flux, how could you ever reduce that to something meaningfully quantifiable?

bbor

an hour ago

Interesting! If I said you were bad at your job and an ugly, inattentive partner, would your primary reaction be one of hurt or just one of calculating self-preservation? I would personally feel very emotional if I heard those things from someone in real life, so it’s an honest question.

What emotionally drives you, if not the assessments of your peers? Why excel at work, why find a partner, why do your best to be better everyday? I wish I could say I was driven by rational assessments of my needs as a Homo Sapiens and my moral responsibilities therein, but I think I’d be lying to myself. Or, at least, it’s an eternal struggle to minimize the importance of self-worth.

wslh

2 hours ago

Completely agree with your point, and it feels like a personal preference/trait. Do you think this tendency is related to an autistic trait because of a focus on facts over social norms?

delusional

3 hours ago

That sounds like a question for your psychologist, not randoms on the internet.

To interact a little more with the substance. I don't think I understand what you're saying. You're clearly using the concept when you write

>I don’t mean that in the negative sense that I think I am worthless or anything

That's what negative self-worth is. You seem to understand it fine. self-worth is your subjective assessment of how much you are worth. The self's assessment of the "worth" (whatever you choose to load into that term) of the self.

add-sub-mul-div

4 minutes ago

You missed the distinction between "I don't feel I have any worth" and "I don't see the world in terms of quantifying worth."

yapyap

38 minutes ago

I agree, it’s also the argument that “nothing will change the big picture anyway” when you don’t go to a business with shady business practices.

Or when changing eating habits in general like eating less meat or consuming less dairy.

It’s not entirely about changing the industry, a part of it is just integrity.

nahimn

3 hours ago

Call me unempathetic, but how would this be any different in a non-digital era? You’ll still have a market (albeit significantly smaller, IE: lets say a small locale or village). But you could have easily said the same thing in a non-digital age, with just more rudimentary metrics and a market that is a community that either values or doesn’t value your work. Much like the proverbial school playground (which could also be analogous to a market).

It’s like the author is blaming technology for illustrating the truth in a highly efficient way.

She may as well have complained about the printing press being problematic.

DavidPiper

2 hours ago

> with just more rudimentary metrics

I think this is actually the answer: the word "just" is doing a lot more heavy lifting here than first meets the eye.

The digital era has brought a lot more quantifiable data, and with that has come a much easier (and in many cases automated) comparison, value-attribution, calculation of the probability of success, etc. The article speaks to this in the second half.

Previously this was largely impossible outside of government and other organisations with dedicated statistic collection. The author talks about how even sales numbers for authors were very imprecise and easy to exaggerate or fudge.

You could argue that the Digital Era has turned some of "life" (or at some of "art") into one big Goodhartian[1] parody.

That said, it does feel like the author has stopped believing that art has intrinsic value - and that its value might be different for different people, including the author. That is pretty much the mental step you need to take to end up in the parody to begin with.

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goodhart%27s_law

BelleOfTheBall

19 minutes ago

Technology amplifies this, greatly. In a non-digital era our field of view was narrow, expanding either to our immediate physical surroundings or, when we went beyond them, limited by what we could read in a newspaper or see on TV. When I was little, I didn't know who was the most skilled person at my hobby or how popular it was or whether beautiful people online also happened to excel at it, while my teenage hormones wreaked havoc on both my personality and looks. Every single child in the civilized world nowadays is subjected to exactly that. You may be an aspiring dancer and there will be a million like you right there on your phone. It's hard for them to formulate self-worth when that is the case.

Does that mean the internet and digital advances are bad? No, it just means we were unprepared for them in a very meaningful way.

wpietri

31 minutes ago

I think your notion of "the truth" is heavily influenced by exactly the context she's pointing at. Google and Meta's algorithmic rankings aren't "the truth", and "the truth" doesn't change on each regular parameter rebalancing. Those algorithms were built by a relatively small number of people from a narrow set of backgrounds who were focused on maximizing usage and revenue, and the bulk of "the truth" they contain is about that.

One thing importantly different about our age is context collapse. With communication costs and marginal costs near zero, a global service is easier and cheaper to build than local ones with equivalent coverage. It's as if we've taken every ecosystem in the world and dumped it onto the San Francisco peninsula to fight it out to discover "the truth" about what plants and animals are "best".

What's different about those small locales and villages is that each one of them naturally had its own values. Skills and tastes co-evolved. Schools of thought were born and elaborated. Communication and movement between locales gave useful exchange and inspiration, but generally weren't enough to swamp variation.

In the pre-web era, the question of, say, whether Irish music was better than Spanish music would be seen as kind of a dumb question to take any more seriously than for an entertaining argument. But having put everything in Meta's global blender and reduced it to counting updoots, the ever-present metrics purport to provide "the truth" to questions like that.

They don't, of course. But they do place a much larger burden on us to recognize that not everything that goes up and to the right is an unalloyed good.

herval

an hour ago

> how would this be any different in a non-digital era? You’ll still have a market (albeit significantly smaller

you answered it yourself.

What's harder, to become the best tennis player of your neighborhood or the best tennis player on the planet? What if you base your self on something that's fringe at a global scale, but acceptable in your local culture? What if all your human interactions are on the internet (with millions of strangers that tend to treat you badly, because people are way more rude online than in real life) vs on your local community (where people treat you better simply to avoid getting punched in the nose, but you might think they like you)?

_Everything_ is different online (and that obviously impacts people's psychologies)

wpietri

24 minutes ago

This is a great point.

In one of Nassim Nicholas Taleb's books, he talks about the emotional impact of looking at one's portfolio performance. If you do it rarely, like quarterly or annually, it'll generally be a positive experience. If you do it day by day, you'll have quite a lot of negative experiences. Because we're wired for loss aversion, we'll weight those negative experiences more highly. The same facts, presented differently, have very different impacts.

If I'm doing my own thing, like the author was with roller skating, my basis for comparison is me. There will be ups and downs, but more of the former, because we can't help but learn. But as you say, the bigger group I rank myself against, the more those experiences will be negative. I also think the bigger groups discourage camaraderie, because the declining chance of future interaction means smaller rewards for collaboration and support.

jakubmazanec

3 hours ago

> how would this be any different in a non-digital era

I would argue that the scale and the ease that comes with the digitalization and algorithmization is what makes the difference: eg. only literary critics can publish review of your book in a newspaper vs. everyone on the internet can post one.

user

2 hours ago

[deleted]

tharne

34 minutes ago

> She may as well have complained about the printing press being problematic.

Technology isn't always fractal, but you seem to be assuming it is. The internet is not just "a really efficient printing press", in the same way that New York is City is not "a little town or village made bigger".

billiardsball

2 hours ago

While I agree with the main point you're making, I have to note that likening school playgrounds to markets is a questionable analogy. Schools are far closer to prisons than markets - in fact, I can't come up with a single way that school playgrounds are similar to markets other than the fact that they both involve humans.

herval

an hour ago

how are schools any close to prisons, other than both involving humans?

Jordan_Pelt

36 minutes ago

A chapter in Chemerinsky's casebook on Constitutional law is titled "Speech in Authoritarian Environments: Military, Prisons, and Schools."

tigen

31 minutes ago

Involuntary confinenent?

herval

3 minutes ago

schools imprison kids now? really?

AnimalMuppet

2 hours ago

It's not different, it's just worse. Online there are more people, interacting more shallowly (and therefore judging more superficially and less empathetically), and presenting a more fake version of their own self for you to compare yourself to, and we spend more time wading in it.

It's always been going on. But it has changed, not in kind, but in degree, and it does more damage.

stonethrowaway

2 minutes ago

I haven’t read the article yet but I’m hoping to read one that attempts to elucidate a possible connection between the plummeting of self-worth of women (and the whiplash effect of their behaviour thereafter) and their exposure to social media that shows them every day, and I’ll put this in a shrewd way, the lives of other women that they will never have. A non-stop daily mental torture session for a good deal of the human race. I want to read such an article because I want someone, and someone with writing flair at that, to go for the jugular of the sick and twisted human nature that we pretend does not exist.

didgetmaster

an hour ago

Every user on HN has a score (up votes vs down votes) based on reactions to comments and submissions.

How many of us will not be our authentic selves in a comment because of fear of how others might react? I know that I have done this.

d0gsg0w00f

31 minutes ago

Of course. I feel more comfortable speaking my mind under a more anonymous account. Even then I'm pretty measured, I just don't want to deal with potential headaches in my professional career.

I don't owe the world my true self

jjulius

8 minutes ago

I genuinely don't care. I've questioned downvotes I've received before, but usually it's just because I want to know why I might have had a bad take or how I might be looking at things wrong.

Respectfully, I know nobody here and you all mean nothing to my life, which is much broader than what I post here, so what do your judgements matter to me? What do these points actually mean that I should choose not to be myself because of them? The answer, to both, is nothing.

rnd0

15 minutes ago

Not really the ideal way to approach HN, although understandable.

If you're considering HN from a forum perspective, the best advice I've read is to think of 'points' as currency to spend on unpopular opinions. After a certain point, you can 'afford' to say whatever's on your mind (within reason). Reddit is the same. You rack up 'karma' so that you can afford to take some downvotes for speaking your mind.

Now, the other dynamic is that some people here expect to see and work with other HN folks in the real world. THAT is more chilling, and I don't think one could be one's 'authentic self' in that instance unless you're already a 'name' who doesn't need to give a rip about others' opinions.

fHr

3 hours ago

I have a career, nice coworkers, have few hobbys and have good friends. The only thing fucking up my selfworth honestly is the dating landscape with all this social media artificial bullshit were nobody wants to commit anymore and everything is fake. It is not worth engaging in it currently and you rather focus on yourself and education/career more it gets you further. If by chance you meet a unicorn take the chance but else just don't bother it only fucks with your selfworth.

mettamage

an hour ago

Funny, I have career issues and dating is easy but that’s only because I was willing to stake my whole life on it and use everything in my power to change it (except changing my looks - I look mediocre).

Happily married right now. Feel free to email me to exchange some career advice for dating advice.

jakubmazanec

3 hours ago

> a server tells me her manager won’t give her the Saturday-night money shift until she has more followers

Does this really happen? Or maybe just in the USA?

Why would I, as a customer, care about server's follower count? Is it somehow correlated with their performance?

harimau777

an hour ago

Not exactly the same, but some friends and I have a tradition of going to a local equivalent to Hooters on Mother's Day since it's the only place that you don't need a reservation. The last time we went the server gave us all an official card with her name on it where we could go to leave feedback for her.

cthalupa

2 hours ago

I've never heard of anything remotely like that occurring in the restaurant industry and servers - but there are industries where the reach of someone would be important for hiring or booking them for a gig. In today's world, social media followers is one of those proxies we tend to default to for reach.

But a similar thing has been part of the service industry for a long time - attractive and charismatic people will often get the best shifts, even if they're not necessarily the hardest working or best at the other aspects of the job. I suspect if such a thing around the followers is happening now, it's just the a new manifestation of the same underlying cause.

toomuchtodo

2 hours ago

Businesses live and die by Google Maps reviews and social now. I am familiar with a Kentucky pizza chain that gave instructions that if each server did not meet their Google review quota, they would be let go or moved to hosting.

https://ibb.co/MBcJhZW https://ibb.co/kG1bddG

Stanley02

2 hours ago

Possibly more followers relates to more customers coming by especially for her/him

23B1

2 hours ago

It happens everywhere in marketing, at all levels. Strippers, movie stars, ballet dancers. Anyone whose job it is to reach eyeballs and build a 'brand'.

It is nigh on impossible to get a literary manager these days unless you have a sizable social media following, for example.

It's absolute brain rot.

InkCanon

2 hours ago

The main hack these commodification entities makes seems to be to disrupt the traditional flow of information and valuation, then create a new marketplace it controls. For books, I imagine many centuries ago the literary class wrote and read books largely from the social and intellectual forces at the time. The smallest unit of these interactions would be a member reading a book, liking it and recommending it to his friends. The net aggregation of such would slowly produce a trend, communicating to writers that there was a higher chance of being read if you followed it. Now such exchanges have been consumed by digital marketplaces. The sheer size means writers have to make a Faustian bargain to bend to it's needs, while readers have a curated list of books for them. Any well reading writer and reader have an impossible time communicating because the main flow of information has been hijacked.

zztop44

2 hours ago

But that simply follows on from a shift in consumer behaviour. It’s nigh impossible to sell literary prose at any significant volume unless you have a sizeable social media following. The only exceptions are people who have a sizeable traditional media following and a specific personal reason for not being on social media.

73kl4453dz

2 hours ago

I guess i am orthogonal to this article because:

(A) i don't visit sites that have "Followers"

which i can probably afford to do because:

(B) unlike writing or waitservice, where one's market is huge numbers of people who each are only willing to pay a little, my skills interest few, but those few are willing to pay a lot.

wpietri

an hour ago

This is an odd thing to say on a site that depends so heavily on the upvote.

d0gsg0w00f

26 minutes ago

It only depends heavily on the up vote if you depend on the up vote. Sometimes it's nice just to formulate thoughts in writing. If others see it, great. If not, no big deal.

wpietri

22 minutes ago

Because upvotes control visibility, you are still describing a reward function that depends on the upvote.

s1artibartfast

3 minutes ago

I think they explicitly said the opposite. That the writing is their reward, and comments are always visible to the author. Visibility to other humans is incidental, or at least a secondary concern.

user

2 hours ago

[deleted]

InkCanon

2 hours ago

IMO the least known, yet most powerful, driver to understand the world in the next century. The commodification of everything - including deeply personal and abstract things like attention and love - have been commoditised. Not in the abstract, rhetorical sense that Marx and other such people mean, but in the engineering sense where liquid exchanges with sub millisecond latency are trading such commodities. Everyone is constantly playing a game against a quasi omniscient, unblinking entity, trading everything from fragments of attention to romance. And humans are hopelessly outmatched as the entity has orders of magnitude more information, computational power and vast ability to restructure the market to it's advantage.

passion__desire

an hour ago

I sometimes think "algorithms" understand me more than other people. Through my actions, they can diagnose me better than any doctor. e.g. meme therapy pages on facebook and tiktoks. I believe a constant stream of "best matched tiktoks/reels" to my situation" would be equivalent in value to going to a 3-star michelin restaurant and having their best dishes. It is available to everyone.

llm_trw

an hour ago

> The bourgeoisie cannot exist without constantly revolutionising the instruments of production, and thereby the relations of production, and with them the whole relations of society. Conservation of the old modes of production in unaltered form, was, on the contrary, the first condition of existence for all earlier industrial classes. Constant revolutionising of production, uninterrupted disturbance of all social conditions, everlasting uncertainty and agitation distinguish the bourgeois epoch from all earlier ones. All fixed, fast-frozen relations, with their train of ancient and venerable prejudices and opinions, are swept away, all new-formed ones become antiquated before they can ossify. All that is solid melts into air, all that is holy is profaned, and man is at last compelled to face with sober senses his real conditions of life, and his relations with his kind.

https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1848/communist-m...

>There is no remembrance of former things; neither shall there be any remembrance of things that are to come with those that shall come after.

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ecclesiastes%20...

nemo44x

3 hours ago

What I love about these types of articles is it reminds me how fortunate I am to live in the wealthiest and most comfortable time Earth has ever seen and it’s very likely to get better. These types of existential panics aren’t possible when you’re sustenance farming as nearly every human that has existed was forced by nature to endure until a painful, horrifying death from disease or illness perished them.

In order to access our hyper modern comfort you’re only asked to contribute something frivolous like clocking in at a record store or writing something that will entertain some people as they enjoy their morning tea. That we increasingly measure contribution, although terrifying in many ways, is also a more just way to compensate contributions. This article seems to yearn for a more political system that would allow her to indulge her creative passion at her whimsy without accountability to the reality of if anyone wants those outputs. A very self serving system indeed.

But again what great fortune to be alive today in a wealthy western political zone. To be able to entertain this fantasy.

InkCanon

an hour ago

Depends on what you mean by good. In Maslow's pyramid, the lowest levels are being optimised for while the highest are suffering greatly. By what are approximate proxies for high level metrics like self fulfilment and satisfaction, things are getting worse (especially in young people). Rates of suicide, depression, mental illness, self harm, addictions (drugs and alcohol), obesity, levels of social interaction, stress etc are all getting worse. Our children will live longer and be more well fed (they're very likely to be overweight), but by every upper metric they are predicted to suffer.

The spiritual/philosophical progress of humanity has stagnated. Those sci-fi stories of higher life with both vast technology and purpose - like the Forerunners (Halo) - is a pipe dream. We're not even heading in the direction The Culture - a post scarcity society that's like a rich old lady trying to find charities to work with. We're heading towards (at best) a Brave New World society - pacified, materially sound but vacuous and empty.

jacamera

2 hours ago

I agree generally, but I feel like we're slowly coming to realize that maximal leisure and safety might not necessarily be the recipe for a happy and fulfilling life.

InkCanon

an hour ago

By certain angles it is even less important than spiritual, community and philosophical purpose. It's not something that you can measure directly but by many possible proxies (Amish levels of depression, the Roseto effect, various studies on happiness of underdeveloped countries), people need very few material things to be happy. Perhaps it is a kind of mass delusion or confirmation bias that happiness must correlate linearly, or even logarithmically, with disposable income.

Log_out_

2 hours ago

Add to that narrative collapse where a ton of past narratives just are refuted by reported facts and thus all romantic ideas just self destruct. The weak are not nobled by suffering . The anti imperialists are just wannabe empires. The centre does not hold.

bamboozled

2 hours ago

“You’re just an LLM”…

weard_beard

3 hours ago

10$ says AI was used to partially write this.