Sshfs for Windows

42 pointsposted 7 hours ago
by keepamovin

14 Comments

3np

34 minutes ago

It seems like this is useful for mounting sshfs drives on a Windows client. Anyone know how to achieve the inverse? That is, I have SSH access to a Windows host (no WSL) and would like to access its filesystem over sshfs or scp. How to do git remotes over such a connection would also be helpful because I haven't figured that out, either.

leni536

19 minutes ago

You can install openssh server and client as Windows components nowadays, somewhere from settings. You can set up git remotes just fine with it, I don't remember trying sshfs.

janci

3 hours ago

While still useful to have a native tool, you can use WSL to mount a sshfs path in windows. I even use it for LUKS containers.

8K832d7tNmiQ

3 hours ago

Not everyone wants to install a huge resource just to use one feature.

sulandor

24 minutes ago

thou wsl is heavier than cygwin, both options aren't really lightweight.

ranger_danger

3 hours ago

I thought sshfs on Linux is no longer maintained

opan

2 hours ago

What are you basing that on? It had a release in 2022 and last commit is 7 months old. It probably hasn't needed any new features in a while. I'm not sure how often it would need security updates.

Ah, I see now there's a note in the README[0]. It sounds more like it's in maintenance mode / understaffed than completely abandoned, but I suppose it's worth being aware of. sshfs has been a killer feature for me on my machines for years for things like playing back stuff from my media library in mpv while it's stored on another machine. I found it to be easier to use and less glitchy than NFS. So I will likely continue to use it.

[0] https://github.com/libfuse/sshfs?tab=readme-ov-file#developm...

bubblesnort

2 hours ago

If it works, don't fix it.

ranger_danger

2 hours ago

I don't think we should be telling people to keep using unsecure versions of ssh.

pletnes

an hour ago

It’s quite possible that security is handled by ssh such that sshfs isn’t exposed over the network. If sshfs can use newer ssh it might be just fine.

nsteel

2 hours ago

An insecure version of secure shell doesn't "work".

ranger_danger

an hour ago

It's ok for people to have different definitions of things