Rare Vinyl Records

15 pointsposted 5 days ago
by tetris11

6 Comments

glitchinc

2 hours ago

Two questions…

1) What is the point of posting this website on HN? I love vinyl, and have a collection with plenty of rarities in it (one out of five, one out of ten, test pressings, promo pressings, signed sleeves, etc.), but I am not sure if a discussion on HN about a vinyl marketplace is apropos. I am not trying to be contrarian; I am asking out of curiosity.

2) As a US-based collector, I find prices listed on the posted website of some LPs I would like to have in my collection much more (as in, double) than listings I can find on Discogs… not to mention Discogs’s excellent communication tools and release database. With the exception of one purchase I made where the seller was essentially acting as a drop shipper and had no idea what they were selling, every vinyl I have purchased through Discogs has been exactly what I thought I had purchased (variant, condition, other important characteristics). I typically communicate with sellers to make sure vinyls are packaged a certain way in depending on the purchase to make sure the new addition to my collection arrives in the best condition possible. Discogs community-centric tools make it very easy to determine or infer buyer and seller reputations / trustworthiness. All said: what is the value of this site over a site such as Discogs?

rurban

6 minutes ago

Not a single Warum Joe record, trash site

talldrinkofwhat

3 hours ago

When the only evidence of existence is a horrendous rip on youtube, I'm not exactly surprised they don't stock Mr. Haangala's sophomore offering:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZWftEpqRWQ

DaoVeles

2 hours ago

I tried three that jumped to mind and had no luck. But these are exceptionally rare albums because they were big flops in their time.

"Here in the land of Vicotry" - Rex Holman - Only album from actor most well known from Gunsmoke. About the only really standout on this one is 'Red is the apple'.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CrBR5HcxngM&list=PLCUEvKJ4ny...

Eden's Island - eden abhez - Only album from semi-famous recluse who wrote 'Nature Boy' for Nat king cole. Album reportedly sold less than 100 copies.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tatqGvQozcY&list=PLLrMVonyKv...

Gypsy Boots / Upredictable - Related to the Nature boys of which Abhez was a part of. A one off album that I can only find on Archive.org. A novelty album at best.

https://archive.org/details/lp_unpredictable_gypsy-boots-and...

EDIT : Also thanks for putting me onto Smokey Haangala. That is a groove I can really get behind!

roryirvine

2 hours ago

What an amazing flashback - I used EIL quite a bit as a student in the mid-late 90s.

They were by far the best online record shop at the time, and iirc were one of the first UK retailers to bother using SSL.

I'm a little ashamed to admit that I've not used them since Amazon started selling music in 2000-ish. In retrospect, that was probably a mistake so I'm going to spend some time on EIL next weekend to make amends