Scientific Visualization: Python + Matplotlib (2021)

57 pointsposted 4 days ago
by danso

7 Comments

jszymborski

5 hours ago

Love Mr. Rougier's open books. I supported this one while it was in development and I wasn't disappointment by the final product.

I've long awaited for him to finish "Python & OpenGL for Scientific Visualization" [0] but I'll take this in the mean time :P

[0] https://www.labri.fr/perso/nrougier/python-opengl/#python-op...

rossant

7 minutes ago

I second this! Nicolas and I have been working hard lately to try to advance the field of scientific visualization in Python — stay tuned!

astrolx

40 minutes ago

Very nice guy too! Met him at a workshop recently and got a hardcopy of the book

aborsy

4 hours ago

Nice book. But frankly Tikz and pgfplots are better for scientific visualization, unless your plot is too complex (in which case you have to settle for a lower quality plot).

jtrueb

3 hours ago

How do you use those outside of Latex? Lots of figures are coming from Matlab or Python, where Latex is a non-starter. Is there a cookbook to pollinate?

adityamwagh

3 hours ago

TikZ has a steep learning curve and felt so convoluted when I tried to use it.