GPU Debug Scopes

87 pointsposted 3 days ago
by qsantos

5 Comments

Flex247A

16 hours ago

What are other cross platform (as in cross-GPU) tools other than RenderDoc that can show GPU debug info?

I found Microsoft Pix, but it's not very useful for Vulkan except showing some performance counters.

jms55

16 hours ago

Just RenderDoc really. PIX is DirectX only, and everything else is vendor specific.

I don't really know why you wouldn't just use your vendor's tooling though. The only thing I use RenderDoc for is I find debugging with it a bit easier than NSight when I need to find a problem, but for anything performance related I use NSight (and would use PIX as well if Nvidia didn't gimp it).

Oh also Intel's IGA I've found to be very buggy as well, so I avoid that.

gmueckl

12 hours ago

What's AMD's equivalent to Renderdoc these days?

kiririn

5 hours ago

To my knowledge they don’t offer a frame debugger any more

DigiEggz

13 hours ago

Cool to see how the Vulkan and OpenGL implementations differ. Also did not ever expect to see Paint Roller on HN.