Enumerate all the subdomains for a domain name

82 pointsposted 6 days ago
by Eikon

24 Comments

Kab1r

6 days ago

Is this just searching certificate transparency logs?

flemhans

6 days ago

I think it's a mix of different sources. Certainly, some of my subdomains there never had an SSL certificate.

remram

5 days ago

I have subdomains with (non-wildcard) certificates that aren't on there.

yup_sto

6 days ago

Have you considered adding a monitoring feature where a user can enter a domain to be monitored and then be notified if a "similar" domain comes across the ingestion pipeline.

This would be useful for early detection of potential impersonations/typo-squatting domains typically used for phishing/scams.

Something as simple as a configurable levenshtein distance/jaro-winkler similarity check across CN and SAN of all new certs maybe? (user can configure with threshold to control how "noisy" they want their feed).

Eikon

6 days ago

For sure, it was on my todo list :)

yup_sto

6 days ago

Awesome, I will keep my eye on this for sure, I've spent the past few months tinkering with ingesting CT logs for bug bounty automation.

Curious if you're running your own CertStream server, or just continuously polling known CT logs with your own implementation.

yup_sto

6 days ago

I also noticed you are ingesting/storing flowers-to-the-world.com certs, not sure what stage of optimization you are at but blacklisting/ignoring these certs in my ingestion pipeline helped with avoiding storing unnecessary data

I'm not sure but I believe that's used by Google internally for testing purposes.

For example if you search google, it returns 120k+ results, and these useless results are at the front.

Eikon

6 days ago

> I also noticed you are ingesting/storing flowers-to-the-world.com certs, not sure what stage of optimization you are at but blacklisting/ignoring these certs in my ingestion pipeline helped with avoiding storing unnecessary data

The goal is to have something exhaustive so I'll keep them. But you are right that I probably should not put them at front. Not sure how important it is though as these results shouldn't match many queries.

yup_sto

6 days ago

Exhaustive/Robust is the way for sure.

Minimizing storage was a priority for me since it's just a small side-project/automation.

I've looked for information on what the hell the `flowers-to-the-world` entries are that pop and have found nothing, curious what's going on there.

Eikon

6 days ago

I am not using certstream as we'd lose data on the first network error. The way it's designed is more "Rsync for ct logs" than something like a stream => storage system.

Btw, you can get our feed like that:

    curl -N 'https://api.merklemap.com/live-domains?no_throttle=true'

veb

5 days ago

How strange. I just tried this out and I see two unauthorised subdomains, with one being an actual "spam" website. However, I don't even know how to delete a subdomain that doesn't show up in my domain registrar or cloudflare!

Thanks for the tool.

roninorder

4 days ago

Found only 43 subdomains for *.wordpress.com.